479. Change of Heart – Jon Gibson

CHANGE OF HEART (1988)

Jon Gibson

If there was any justice in the world of Christian Music Jon Gibson would have been selling out arena and Carman would be lost in obscurity. His “wonder”-like vocals, pure blue-eyed soulful expression, disarming good looks and hook-filled grooves are what stars are made of. And for a few years in the late 80’s and early 90’s Ginson was always on the cusp of breaking into the upper echelon of CCM.

After being discovered by Brian Tong of Maranatha Village/Frontline Records from his mainstream released debut (Standing On the One) he released his first Christian alum, On the Run. OTR featured several songs from the mainstream album reworked and landed a few Christian Radio hits.

Change of Heart was a dramatic leap forward with Bill Baumgart producing and adding textures and warmth to the album as well as creating a few very radio friendly ballads including the monster hit, Friend In You. The album also featured a duet with one of Frontline’s up and coming female artists, Crystal Lewis. The song, Lost Inside of You, also appeared on a Lewis project as well.The album is filled with great hooks and nearly the whole project found a home on radio: Friend In You, Yah Mo B There, the title track and The Wall all scored well.

The album is also noted for the introduction of an artists that would outsell both Jon Gibson and Crystal Lewis combined. Gibson toured often with a young, rambunctious rapper known as “The Holy Ghost Boy.” I saw both Jon and The Holy Ghost Boy at a Christian Nightclub in the OC called The Lighthouse. A few weeks later Bill Baumgart came to me and asked if I knew a youth group that would like to participate on a song they were recording for Change of Heart that would also feature The Holy Ghost Boy.

At the time I was working with a large youth group in Whittier, CA and the Youth Pastor agreed to let Bill, Jon and the Holy Ghost Boy perform the track and record the youth group chanting “This wall…will fall” over and over again. That night we were told that the Holy Ghost Boy was changing his name…

…to MC Hammer.

  1. Brian
    October 16, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    When Jon Gibson’s first release was out, I just did not get it. But by the time this one was on the shelves I did “get it” and started to love what he was doing. It was different, urban and like Charlie Peacock, changing my ‘little universe” of what I thought CCM would be. The song “Too Tough” had the best rhythm and from there i listened. I actually went back and got “Standing On The ONE”…
    By the time the third release came out I was primed for Jon Gibson.
    Great talent.

  2. Dave H
    October 20, 2010 at 3:38 am

    “If there was any justice in the world of Christian Music Jon Gibson would have been selling out arena and Carman would be lost in obscurity.”

    Dave…I couldn’t agree more.

    • Liz
      March 28, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      ha! I loved this line as well!

  3. paul
    October 22, 2010 at 9:11 pm

    My all time favorite song was “Start it all again” which was played on the radio. I bought the album standing on the one. Now that one is impossible to find on CD.

  4. LilBobbyV
    October 30, 2010 at 3:20 am

    I worked for Sound Warehouse in 87. Someone had opened a vinyl copy and started playing it in the store. It became a big customer favorite. This CD was the beginning of my love affair with Gibson’s music. He has released his catalog on his website if anyone wants to check out jongibson.com. Here it is 22 years later and I still play this one regularly.

  5. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Haha.. Great story about MC Hammer!

  6. Liz
    March 28, 2011 at 11:43 pm

    Dave – seriously – you are taking me down memory lane! I was already thinking of my days dancing at the Lighthouse!!

    …But MC HAMMER???????? OK – you have officially told me something I did not know!!! I remember seeing him with Jon!! haha! What a trip!

    I have always been a fan of Jon’s and still am! He is awesome and his voice is unmistakable.

  7. Greenchili
    May 7, 2011 at 7:59 am

    Aaww.. comeon… how could you resist a face like this??

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

  8. Greenchili
    May 7, 2011 at 8:00 am
  9. July 17, 2014 at 1:42 pm

    I used to call Jon Gibson and Kim Boyce the “Reigning Monarchs of Move” (referring to their danceable music) back when I was selling regularly on Ebay. I always thought they deserved a larger platform than they got.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

