484. Just Another Injustice – Mark Farner

JUST ANOTHER INJUSTICE (1988)

Mark Farner

No artist has ever possessed the rock and roll pedigree that Mark Farner had coming into Christian Music. As the leader of one of America’s greatest bands, Grand Funk Railroad, Mark should have owned CCM with his debut release. The album did sell well, but I’m not sure it ever lived up to the lofty hopes of the record company.

While working at Maranatha Village I was invited to lunch with Brian, Mike and Jimmy from Frontline Records as they wanted to introduce me to their newest artist. While sitting in a corner booth at a local Denny’s a gentleman walked in and sat down next to me. They introduced “Mark” to me. I had never seen a picture of Mark Farner with short hair. It took more than a few minutes for me to connect the dots.

After lunch we went back to the Frontline offices to listen to the final mixes of the debut album that was to be “Just Another Injustice.” Even though it did not possess that all out Americana rock of GFR it still had more than enough bite and soul to set it apart in a world of Amy, Michaels and Stevens. Ironically the iconic song from the album was actually the mellowest song, “Isn’t It Amazing. ” I believe it may have been the first time Frontline had to produce an “Accompaniment Tape” for any of the releases so people could sing the song in Church. The song continues to be a Christian radio favorite and though he would record a few more releases for the Christian Market (including a Christianized version of the GFR classic, Some Kind of Wonderful), Just Another Injustice would remain his best.

  1. LilBobbyV
    October 29, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Looking through your list reminds me of so many of my favorite records and cassettes that I had that are no more. This was one cassette that I literally wore out and never replaced. Mark Farner for me was one of the CCM MOR rockers of the 80s. I need to find the CD.

  2. Liz
    March 28, 2011 at 11:38 pm

    You just reminded me of my days working at Frontline Records! 🙂 While it wasnt the greatest job in the world, it was cool seeing those artists come in on a regular basis! Never met Mark Farner though! Do you still keep contact with those guys? (Mike, Brian, Ed?) Remember Kim Camp? I still keep in touch iwth her from time to time. There’s even a frontline record page on FB!

    • low5point
      March 28, 2011 at 11:40 pm

      Yep…my page. Still friends with Mike, Brian and Ed from a distance as I live in the NW now…great times

  3. Greenchili
    May 6, 2011 at 9:58 am

    Definitely a rockin’ record! 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

