485. Midnight Fire – Randall Waller

MIDNIGHT FIRE (1980)

Randall Waller

Everything that was wrong about the Christian Music industry in the early 80’s rears its ugly head on the classic gem that is a legitimate AYSO. Take an impressive rock vocalist (who would later form the band Avion) have him record killer rock and progressive rock songs but hide the guts in the mix, put the guy a late 70’s leisure suit and put seat him on a throw rug in front of a glowing fire. Ugh!

What should have been the North American introduction of a great rocker in the vein of The Eagles “Long Run” ended up being a forgotten and overlooked cut out bin regular. Find this album and get it! There are no mediocre songs and, in fact, some amazing tunes throughout. One of the songs that Avion would later cover is a more commercial version of “I Need You,” a song that should have been a Christian Rock hit. The nearly 6 minute “Lady of the Night” is a rare progressive rock delight in CCM.

Even the ballads on this release are worthy of consideration, especially the mid-tempo “Cry From an Absent Friend.” Waller would later appear as a guest vocalist on a David Zaffiro (Bloodgood) solo project.

  1. Brian
    October 16, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    This album cover was one of the worst I had ever seen, but the original cut of “I NEED YOU” is one of my top 5 CCM songs I play all the time. Once I heard it, I never forgot it nor stopped playing it. Kind of reminded me of Boston’s bounce and the The Eagles’ delivery. A classic. Maybe my tastes were not quite yet developed at the time or maybe it was just the ugly album cover, but the rest of the album seemed to be bad. I had always kept I NEED YOU (for over thirty years) but the rest of it I lost having just found it again this year. I will have to give it another go based upon your review.

    I had tried to find what happened to Randall a few years ago and found him as the long time guitarist for Shania Twain. Her website congratulated him for he and his wife just having a baby….From that one cut of classic rock I NEED YOU to country…ouch, that hurt. 😉

  2. David
    November 2, 2010 at 8:28 pm

    A brilliant album. I too was dismayed when I found out he was backing up Shania Twain. I tried contacting him about the album to no avail, but I managed to find a post from him on the forum on his website (before it was left for the spammers). Someone asked him if it was okay to pass around LP rips of the album since it wasn’t on CD. He said it was cool because that one was way back in his history or something to that effect. Someone needs to locate the master tapes and get this on CD.

  3. Brett C
    December 1, 2010 at 8:50 am

    I think that you need to listen to this album again as this album should be much higher on the list, definitely in the top 100. I still listen to this album after all these years, and still enjoy it just as much as when I first heard it. I do agree that the cover is a bit doggy though. 🙂

  4. Dave
    December 11, 2010 at 11:52 am

    I have heard a handful of the songs from this album and I am desperate to download the whole thing. If you can help that would be great. I managed to download Avion-white nosie – fantastic. I would also love to download Avion self titled if anyone can help me with that one too I would really apprecaite it. What a great band live too.

    • Brett C
      December 24, 2010 at 7:20 am

      Hey Dave, check out the Flipside link on the right hand side of this very blog and your dreams might come true… 🙂

  5. Greenchili
    May 6, 2011 at 9:25 am

    The ballads are ok but the tend to kill the momentum a bit. Kinda like on Strypers THWTD which had one too many ballads.

  6. Grenville
    July 11, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    Randall also audio-engineered some latter-day Frontline Records releases, Jacobs Trouble being one of the artists he worked with.

    He’s also had a long career in the mainstream industry, played guitar with Shania Twain in the USA, bass and guitar with Bonnie Tyler (Total Eclipse of the Heart) in the UK and Australian artists like the legendary Billy Thorpe (RIP) and recently filling in for an unwell Rob Riley in Rose Tattoo.

  7. Bob
    March 7, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    You may download the album on the following link:

    http://www.4shared.com/zip/…/randall_waller_-_1980_-_midnig.html

  8. Bob
    March 7, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    The following like allows you to download the LP.

    http://www.4shared.com/zip/…/randall_waller_-_1980_-_midnig.html

    • Rob Karhukangas
      July 29, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      It doesn’t seem to be there anymore. Any suggestions?

  9. Grant
    August 31, 2012 at 7:45 am

    My favourite album of all time. in my memory. I would love to have the opportunity to download it. Thanks Randall

  10. Mandusus
    May 15, 2014 at 11:09 pm

    An awesome album. Fiery guitar riffs and leads that have a jazz tinge at times. I actually liked the cover–he looks like a classy Brit royal. If you think this one’s bad, find an old Tom Netherton (Lawrence Welk) gospel album!
    TOO BAD most CCM nixed WALLER and later AVION. I get chills thinking about the music and now I wanna unpack 3 decades of LPs I’ve stashed away.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

