486. Dream Life – The Lifesavors

DREAM LIFE (1983)

Lifesavors

The first of several Mike Knott created and lead projects, Dream Life remains probably the most commercial sounding Lifesavors release. With the departure of former co-lead singer Mark Kirshack Mike Knott took control and filled Dream Life with several very short, pop/punk songs borrowing from whatever was the rage on College rock radio and the world famous KROQ in Los Angeles including Men Without Hats and The Clash, Dream Life was immediately likable and introduced the band to a much wider audience than their more edgy, independent debut two years earlier.

This is not to say there was no controversy surrounding the album. A large percentage of Christian bookstores would not carry the album even though it received distribution from a major and “safe” Christian Company (Benson). The problem was the album cover featured a bare leg of a girl shown from the below the knee…seriously! The cover symbolized the “one foot in and one foot out of the world” lyric and theme of the album. I guess in 1983 the ankle was just too much for CCM!

The other controversy around the album involved the make up of the band. Even though Knott wrote most, if not all of the albums songs it is said he never sang on the album though I swear I hear his voice here and there. I never really heard the whole story, but it appears that Knott recorded the vocals, had some sort of falling out which caused the vocal to be re-recorded using someone else, and then Knott rejoined the band soon after.

If anyone knows the real story, I would love to hear it! Either way the album remains a landmark release on many levels. One a side note this is the final time the “o” would be used in the spelling of the band.

  1. Roy Fredrickson
    December 2, 2010 at 8:56 pm

    I had never heard this album until I downloaded it a couple of weeks ago (thanks to your recommendation in this list) but I bought “Kiss of Life” and “Shaded Pain” over 20 years ago so I figured it would be worth a listen.

    This is just such a fun album to listen to! Great lyrics and a “punk” attitude, without sounding angry (if that’s possible!). Songs like “Christian Twister” and “Christian Army” just make me smile when I listen to them.

    I wish I had found this album 25 years ago. Thanks for including it on your list.

  2. Greenchili
    May 6, 2011 at 8:02 am

    I really like the rhythm guitar playing on this one but the vocals just totally throw me off. And that one song sounded so much like Blitzkrieg pop.. lol

  3. adam
    June 13, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    I have no clue who is doing the lead vocals, and it’s bugged me for almost 30 years! Although that’s clearly Knott doing the lead on “I’m Not.” Fun play on words there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

