491. Vision – Vision

VISION (1985)

Vision

Though promoted heavily as a band featuring two members of the classic Southern Rock band, Lynard Skynard, Vision was really driven by the guitar and vocals of Rocco Marshall. Lynard Skynard pianist Billy Powell lends both credibility and chops as the piano is a central force and Powell delivers. The comparisons to Skynard are not quite as accurate as is something more akin to 38 Special and even Kansas as there are some very progressive moments included. More pop infused than Skynard Southern funk, Vision was unfortunately short lived.

I never heard of it was record label induced as Heartland records did not survive very long and seemed unable to introduce the band to the CCM world at large. This should not keep the reader from doing whatever possible to track down a copy of the CD which has been recently released. This is another AYSO!

  1. Brian
    October 16, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    I had a lot of excitement when I saw this one – some really good quality Sourhern Rock
    But I was ultimately disappointed

    I felt the writing was poor, the performance was less but it was probably that my hopes for it were too high. I wanted a Christian Lynyrd Skynyrd

    I have since revisited it and found it more enjoyable but still not great

    • Eddie
      March 31, 2011 at 3:15 am

      Hey Brian…was it Vision 1985 or Mountain in the Sky you have? see my 2 previous posts…i’d be glad to get you a copy of MITS if it’s 1985 you have already shelled out for…let me know

  2. Eddie
    March 12, 2011 at 4:46 am

    I grew up in Jacksonville FL and had the original indie release on cassette. this was a really great band! saw them several times in concert and they were always fantastic. Their signature song (on the local Christian radio station and in concert) was “The Lord is My Joy”. throughout the years i’ve thought back and remembered how cool that song was and wished i could somehow go back in time and bring it back. Could not believe when i saw it on this list and realized the album had been brought back after 25 yrs! When i listened to it after so many years i had the opposite reaction that Brian had. i had forgotten how unbelievable the songs were. Brian is on point about the strength of the songwriting….but the passion and musicianship more than make up for this. “the Lord is my Joy” is a southern rock, barn-burner with a guitar hook i couldn’t shake for 25 yrs! this song alone is worth the price but the rest of the album is very strong.

  3. Eddie
    March 12, 2011 at 5:15 am

    forgot to add…the re-released original disc is now called “Mountain in the Sky” and this is the one to have. there is a re-release of the major label debut (Vision 1984) is the one that made the list at 491. there was a lot of excitement in Jax when Vision was signed to a record deal but what a huge disappointment when the Heartland Records versions came out! It left me speechless and scratching my head….probably listened to about 5 times (just to confirm what i was actually hearing) and never picked it up again. they re-recorded most of the original songs (in a church auditorium if i remember correctly) and absolutely butchered them! they drained every bit of energy and excitement from the original songs and recordings that Vision had done on their own at Pat Travers studio. if Vision 1984 made the list at 491 then “Mountain in the Sky” would have made it into the 300’s….they truly are that different!

  4. January 10, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Never heard of them “in the day” but I’ve added them to my Spotify library, good stuff!

  5. Greenchili
    June 11, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    Surprisingly good album. Something I think my wife will enjoy as well.

  6. March 23, 2013 at 11:48 pm

    As one of the writers on The Vision albums..I have to agree w/ Brian and Eddie..When we got signed we wanted a a specific producer who would allow us our musical freedom..but sadly..weren’t allowed what we were promised and wished we could have buried the whole recording but Psalm 23..we always considered ourselves a live band..and the way we were recorded took the spontaniety out of us..had we known when we signed we would have been boxed the way we were ..we wouldn’t have done it..The record company wanted so much for us to be a “commercial”‘ success..they forgot why they signed us..because of the raw power and team musicianship that we had together..Leon Wilkeson and I had been friends in “The World”.. and when I got into trouble that ultimately brought me face to face w/Jesus..he was w/me and brought Billy Powell into the band..just before Billy went on to be w/Jesus..he and I began writing again..I have been finishing up our stuff..it’s really good..we were going to call ourselves “The Rock Band.. Vision..I have copies of all Three Vision CDs..Mountain in The Sky..Vision 1985 and Streetfighter a previously un released recording w bonus tracks..they are on the internet music sites but I am in a dispute w/ the person selling them on there and am receiving no money from the sales and will have to fight this “christian brother” in court even though we have no contract..contact me @ 904-386-8877 or on Facebook – Rocco Marshall..

    • low5point
      March 23, 2013 at 11:53 pm

      Rocco – thank you for your response and information. As one who worked in the industry I saw your plight far too many times. I had thought about adding something to the review that if it had been produced better it would have easily cracked the Top 200, possibly Top 100. I believe the songs were that good.

  7. Eddie
    June 30, 2013 at 2:08 am

    Thanks Rocco! always knew you guys were pushed into the Heartland release….because your original version was sooo much better! I can still see my cassette case w/ the big “V” in Vision. your vocals and guitar work were fantastic, Maples drums were huge….i also loved the diversity of styles and sounds that you guys had on the original. I believe you guys played a “reunion” show at the Potters Wheel (Southside Assembly) youth group reunion a few years back and I was not able to make it but desperately wanted to be there. You guys made a huge impact on me as an insecure and shy teenager and i’m sure that is multiplied and we will only know the true scope once we are w/ Jesus and can see the things that were going on around us that we couldn’t see then!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

