493. Back to the Street – Petra

BACK TO THE STREET(1986)

Petra

This is the first release after the departure of long time lead vocalist Greg X Volz and many fans wondered what would become of their beloved corporate rock heroes. “Back to the Street” answered the question with a vengeance and remains one of the two best John Schlitt lead projects.

After a brief and successful foray into technology driven rock with “Beat the System,” Petra returned to their more Foreigner tinged leanings. The Elefante brothers (John and Dino) debuted at the production helm and the vocal and guitar qualities of earlier releases returned. BTTS contains some Bob Hartman’s finest songwriting. The band would receive one of their several Grammy Award nominations and fans accepted new vocalist John Schlitt (formerly of mainstream band Head East). They would “own” Christian radio with the final song, “Thankful Heart.”

  1. Brian
    October 16, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    This album hit me at the right time
    I received it with great joy and every bit of it was musically tasty
    ANOTHER CROSSROAD and THANKFUL HEART were standout tracks

  2. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 7:36 am

    I really like the way Bob changes up the tempo, etc on alot of the songs on this album. Although it was just a tinge too synthy (Don’t get me wrong I’m probably one of the few who loved BTS and CITAS). Anywho I almost get the impression that alot of these tunes were written with Greg X. Volz in mind. Also this marks the first petra concert I got to see. I was expecting Greg X. Volz only to see some stranger singing my favorite tunes. 😀

    For anyone interested classic petra with the CITAS lineup is currently together for tours and the released an album of re-recording of classic petra tunes.

  3. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 9:36 am

    Forgot to mention “Whole World” is one of my all time fav Petra songs.

  4. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 9:37 am

    Video for “Whole World” can be found here.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6F5Vhzzzh5w

  5. June 18, 2011 at 4:57 am

    Actually I think this is the worst album Petra made in 80’s. I didn’t like the pop sound they made with “Beat the System”. This album is not better. The songs sound quite plastic. Well, of course there’s KING’s RANSOM and THANKFUL HEART which are great as well as the title track but the rest of the material is nothing compared to songs they had the albums ON FIRE! and THIS MEANS WAR! – or UNSEEN POWER and BEYOND BELIEF.

  6. January 10, 2012 at 9:49 am

    I can still remember the trepidation I felt when I bought this album… would it still be Petra without Greg’s voice? Would I be able to stand the new sound of *my* band?

    Needless to stay when I heard John’s voice on that first song, “Back to the Street,” I was hooked. It still ranks as one of my most favorite Petra songs and is on my “Petra favorites” playlist on Spotify.

  7. October 5, 2014 at 8:47 am

    I don’t know why, but Shakin’ the House is still one of my favourites and I can still play it today and love it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

