Home > CCM, Christian Music, Christian Pop, Christian Rock, Greatest Albums, Jesus Music, Uncategorized > 499. Weber and the Buzztones – Weber and the Buzztones

499. Weber and the Buzztones – Weber and the Buzztones

WEBER AND THE BUZZTONES (1984)

Weber and the Buzztones

This little gem would have ranked significantly higher if there were more than 4 songs. As a result this album (EP) is the shortest on the list. A whole lot of keyboards and with touches of The Cars and Gary Numan. I did get to see them once at the Anaheim Convention Center as part of a Calvary Chapel evangelistic event. Several different members flowed in and out of the band and I admit to having very limited knowledge about them outside of seeing them one other time with Steve Taylor.

Like Steve Taylor the music is quirky, fun and the lyrics dry and funny at times. I had always wished for more, but it was apparently never to be.

  1. Shawn McLaughlin
    October 7, 2010 at 3:47 am

    Chuck Cummings is the drummer on this project, is he not?

    • low5point
      October 7, 2010 at 3:51 am

      Not sure since so much is programmed. I know I saw him live when they were Steve Taylor. The credits have two different Linn Drum programmers. Really, what I recall is this whole project was centered around Larry Weber

  2. Shawn McLaughlin
    October 14, 2010 at 1:43 am

    When I was working with Rick (Long) Mann (your predecessor at Diamante in the PNW)at that CD demo business he started, Chuck came by and visited for some reason. He asked a trivia question which (I Think) was which was the very first band he played in. Rick threw out a wild guess with Weber and the Buzztones and was right. This was 11 years ago so I’m kinda fuzzy…..

  3. Brian
    October 16, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I just recently re acquired an old copy of this
    Hadn’t had it for years but as soon as I heard RUN RUN RUN RUNAWAY it all came back
    Fun is the operative word here

  4. thomas pacho
    December 30, 2010 at 6:06 am

    I joined Weber and The Buzztones when Larry Weber and Mike Tuuri(the drummer on the ep) moved to Orange County, CA. from San Francisco around 1982-3. At that time it was the three of us (me handling all keyboard parts). We played around southern california and the bay area. We acquired a second keyboardist (Mike Archambaeu)about a year later. I’m kind-of blown away that there is even a trace of it on the internet. We played some great shows with some great bands. I wish I could have played on the ep. All-in-all, a great experience…..I just wish I could find my copies of it…..probably gone the way of the do-do…..

    • larry anderson
      February 21, 2013 at 6:44 pm

      tom larry here, at one time was one of the drummers for larry. i have a 45 with God bless america and lamb chops if you want a copy, we at that time were larry weber and millennium. latea1@aol.com cheers

      • Mike Spragge
        January 17, 2015 at 12:22 am

        Hello Larry, Don’t know if you remember me, Mike Spragge, I was the bass player on the 45 you mentioned. I still have a few copies also. That 45 was recorded at David Denny’s (Steve Miller Band) studio in Danville, CA. The band at that time was Larry weber, Mike Tuuri, drummer, Glen Reposa, keyboard, and me, bass. Do you remember the fun concert at I think Dublin High School? Larry was a really all around talented guy.

  5. Robert Haake
    July 22, 2015 at 11:56 am

    Hello!
    Very intresting comments.
    I am trying to write a book about christian bands that made synthpop and is therefore very intrested in any information about the band. So all past mebers of the group are very welcome to post info here or to mail me at robert.haake2@gmail.com. I also really want to buy that 45 that Larry anderson writes about or any other 7″ released by the group.
    BW/Robert

    • Mike Spragge
      July 24, 2015 at 5:08 pm

      Robert, I have a few

      copies of the 45 and I am looking for pictures of the concert we did in Dublin, CA, at the high school. I can’t remember if Larry Anderson or Doug Jorgenson took the photos. Doug was the staff photographer for the Livermore Independent newspaper. I don’t have any photos of myself in the band and would love to have some. Thanks, Mike Spragge

      • Robert Haake
        July 24, 2015 at 9:51 pm

        I mailed you Mike. Sorry I can´t help you with the photos. Hope someonewho have them sees this so they can help you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

