461. A Song in the Night – Silverwind

A SONG IN THE NIGHT (1982)

Silverwind

In the early 1980’s Silverwind was huge. I mean HUGE! They were selling with the best of CCM giants at the time and owned Christian radio. Sounding unmistakeably like ABBA this trio only recorded three albums before disbanding and the first two remain tremendous successes. the best of the three is easily “A Song in the Night.”

The album is filled with huge and lush production with special attention given to the tight harmony and wall of vocals. The only other artists in CCM who blended as well were First Call and the siblings in 2nd Chapter of Acts.

This is the type of act that admittedly many critics like to dismiss as pablum fluff and unworthy of consideration. To do that would be to miss some exceptional vocal arrangements and performances. There are also some very strong songs included here as well. Most notably the title track and the song “Destiny.”

  1. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 8:52 am

    Haha.. I actually still have the original LP of this in a box somewhere. Given to me by a family member if I remember correctly. Although at the time I wasn’t really into the “Abba” sound.

  2. February 24, 2013 at 6:12 am

    I was introduced to this album about eight years ago when I found it in my dad’s record collection. He hasn’t seen it since. 🙂 I think I listened to it every day for about three years straight.

    I’m confused by your comment that they only made three albums, though. My dad has four Silverwind LPs — the self-titled debut, ASITN, By His Spirit, and Set Apart. Set Apart does have different vocalists, but it’s on the same label with (pretty much) the same songwriters/musicians/production staff. What was the deal there?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

