462. I Want to Be a Clone – Steve Taylor

I WANT TO BE A CLONE (1983)

Steve Taylor

How important, creative and great is Steve Taylor? When you discount live, greatest hits and maxi-single projects he released only four full length projects, on EP and a band effort under the name Chagall Guevara, and all of them are included on this list! The first to be included was the first release, the EP, I Want to Be a Clone.

Clocking in at UNDER 20 minutes the only thing that kept this project from being placed in the Top 250 is the time. 6 songs. 6 great and unforgettable songs. IWTBAC introduced an unsuspecting CCM buying public to something I’m not sure they ever recovered from. Sure, there were plenty of new artists bring new wave and punk stylings into the world of CCM but no one arrived with such ferocity and no one was as quite misunderstood.

I was a Senior in High School when the album came out and my Youth Pastor was part of the “Christian Rock is Evil” and Steve was one of his favorite targets. Not only did he not approve of the music he struggled with the satire and sarcasm. He so misunderstood Taylor that he complained that some young kids might actually think it’s a bad thing if all Christians looked and acted exactly the same!

There were no sacred cow to fat to be skewered. Church hopping, legalism, abortion, politics and the gay lifestyle were all victims of Taylor’s piercing tongue…and that was just on side one! Musically the album was very Oingo Boingo and Devo sounding with a touch of the Cars and David Bowie. Taylor’s delivery was harsh and caustic and every kid under 25 that walked into my store walked out with a copy.

IWTBAC may or may not actually have the first instance of Christian Rap, but my guess is Taylor would never want to claim his “Bad Rap” should be considered a landmark recording of anything. It was actually closer to Blondie than Sugar Hill. A personal favorite than never loses its punch is the EP’s final track, “Whatcha Gonna Do When Your Number Is Up?”

You’re so open minded that your brain leaked out…”

Priceless!

  1. Brian
    October 15, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Who couldn’t forget the first tiem they heard “I WANT TO BE A CLONE!” It made me a Steve Taylor fan for life.

  2. Dave H
    October 20, 2010 at 3:25 am

    Dave…this is waaay too low for this one. This was cutting edge stuff when it came out and although Meltdown really defined his legacy this has to be given a better slot just because of the ground it broke.

    • low5point
      October 20, 2010 at 3:36 am

      It’s the EP penalty 🙂

  3. paul
    October 26, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    What a fantastic album this is. When I bought it I couldn’t believe how great it was. My favorite is a toss up between “Steeple chase” and “…Clone” I saw Steve not too long after this came out and was blown away by hie live show. Very professional and high energy. And who could forget the white jump suit and the rouge on the cheeks.

  4. November 14, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    So fun. So subversive. I love it. David, now that I’m figuring out who you are, I’m wondering if your youth pastor was in fact my Dad.

  5. Jerrid
    November 17, 2010 at 4:04 am

    Funny now how contoversial he was. I agree it should be rated much, much higher.

  6. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Agreed on “Whatcha Gonna Do When Your Number Is Up?” on of my all time ST favorites. I still have a signed copy of this LP sitting in a box at home! Saw him in concert only one time but he is a very nice and great guy in person.

  7. Greenchili
    November 27, 2011 at 8:30 am

    low5point :
    It’s the EP penalty

    Well if we “Cloned” all the songs would it then qualify as a LP? lol.

  8. Tim
    January 18, 2012 at 8:48 pm

    I love your comment TheChindo: “So fun. So subversive.” That is spot on. I first heard this on LP at a friend’s house and couldn’t believe how awesome it sounded. I loved figuring out all of the different digs at religion thrown into the songs. This album made me a Steve Taylor fan for life. I can’t argue at all with having every one of Taylor’s albums included on this countdown. I would do the same thing.

  9. Troy Bowman
    July 19, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    This is one of my favorite Taylor albums. Steve spoke of many subjects many artists would not dare, if only more artists were willing to call sin – sin.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

