445. Sin – Poor Old Lu

SIN (1994)

Poor Old Lu

Among Seattle’s great contributions to the world that include Starbucks, flannel and music with guitars is the band Poor Old Lu. Named from a line in CS Lewis’ “The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe” the Seattle based quartet was easily one of the most important Christian bands of the 1990’s. Combining an impressive and eclectic musical sound fusing grunge, alternative, funk and psychedelic, Christian music was simply nit ready for something like Poor Old Lu.

The second release, Sin, may be the most accessible of projects as the focus is on guitar driven grunge-lite and funk rhythms and powerful and melodic vocals. Though not as challenging musically as the debut, it maintained the amazing lyrical approach the band would carry with it throughout its career. Introspective and dark, the human soul find revelation and commonality.

There’s more passion than angst here. More of a realization of the frailty of man can find hope and rest in only one place.

  1. Shawn McLaughlin
    October 14, 2010 at 1:23 am

    Oh my gosh! Fail! FAIL!!!!!!!!!

    This has GOT to be in my top 50, if not top 25. Just listened to it again for the first time in a couple of years. MAN I love this record.

    • low5point
      October 14, 2010 at 3:20 am

      Shawn…feel free …Wordpress has plenty of room for you :0

  2. Shawn McLaughlin
    October 14, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Well, if writing wasn’t such a slow process for me I definitely would……it is hard getting my regular reviews for the magazine out every month.

  3. Paul
    October 16, 2010 at 6:47 am

    I am so glad you included this album. It has a very special place for me as it was a constant play in my car when I first came back to the Lord. Plus, it is just great music. I could never understand why they did not make it bigger. I need to hunt it down again.

  4. Dave H
    October 20, 2010 at 3:17 am

    Nice inclusion Dave. Of all the FMG releases this would be in my Top 10 for sure. I got a feeling the other 9 will make this list somewhere along the way 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

