405. Live – John Fowler and Harpoon

LIVE (1980)

John Fowler and Harpoon

OK…this album is really a glorified EP with only 6 songs and is also live. That is two strikes going against it on this list. But those 6 songs are amazing and the “live” project is the only music I’ve ever been able to find from this amazing artist. Fowler and his band possess, hands down, the best blues guitar work I have ever heard on a Christian album, albeit six songs may not be a large enough sample size. He also plays a mean harmonica.

I remember seeing them once at a Calvary Chapel concert and, who knows, that could be where this was recorded. I really very limited information on the group and google searches only bring up a few short reviews with limited information. The placement is based solely on the amazing musicianship, great songwriting, smoking hot vocals and sheer rocking passion.

As a traditional rock and blues project the point here is not the lyrical content as most of the songs are simple blues fair with repetitive lines and big hooks in the choruses. It’s about the blues. Does it feel real? Fans of Bad Company, Eric Clapton and the previously mentioned Ed Raetzloff will love this.

  1. Elaine
    December 11, 2011 at 7:22 am

    Hey, this is John Fowler… nice to see someone remembers me. This particular project was one of the few gigs we did as a band. It was even a last minute decision to put a band behind me. We had one rehearsal and did the gig at Calvary Chapel the next night back in February of 1980. I am still a functional songwriter, having had songs recorded by Martina McBride,Dion,Bob Bennett, Cindy Cruse, and a few others If anyone would like to contact me, my e-mail is johnfowler54@hotmail.com … and you can listen to some of my music that is posted on MySpace at MySpace.com/johnfowlersongwriter I am also on Facebook. Thanks for those of you that remember me….

  2. January 21, 2014 at 2:44 am

    This is one of my favorite albums of all time. I didn’t think anyone else had ever heard of it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

