Home > CCM, Christian Music, Christian Pop, Christian Rap, Christian Rock, Greatest Albums, Jesus Music > 361. Sheep in Wolves Clothing – Mylon LeFevre & Broken Heart

361. Sheep in Wolves Clothing – Mylon LeFevre & Broken Heart

SHEEP IN WOLVES CLOTHING (1985)

Mylon Lefevre & Broken Heart

Though the follow up to this project, Crack the Sky, would receive the awards and be the best selling album in LeFevres career, Sheep in Wolves Clothing would remain the best in his career. After a very negative experience at the end of his secular music career that forced him to give up all royalties, Mylon went back to Church. There he began to sense a call to return to music, but this time with a decidedly more Biblical purpose. He formed a band that would later be called Broken heart and recorded his Christian debut, Brand New Start. That album barely missed making this list and is an AYSO.

He soon signed a deal with major Christian label Myrrh and introduced himself to the CCM world in a big way with Sheep in Wolves Clothing. This was all during a time when televangelist were playing records backwards and calling all rock music, especially the music performed by “so called” Christian rockers as blasphemous and “of the Devil.” (Think “Footloose” with bigger and bluer hair.)

Lefevre’s response was to turn the tables on the popular televangelist saying that these Christian rockers were “Wolves in sheep’s clothing” and made a statement that, in effect, these rockers were simply sheep in wolves clothing, playing for and to an audience that needed the Gospel.

The album has a straight Southern rock feel comparable to 38 Special or the Doobie Brothers. Nothing extremely heavy, but well crafter rock with exceptional musicianship. The guitar work, sometime hidden too far back in the mix (unfortunately too common for the time) was exceptional with “I Will Rejoice” being a perfect example.

As must be understood as an album for its time, the electronic drums can get annoying ( I think they were annoying when they were cool) but it was just the sound for the time. The only more embarrassing for the time would be the outfits – ugh!Those drums kick off the opening track, a long time LeFevre concert favorite, Crucible of Love. The old southern gospel favorite, “Gospel Ship,” is covered here in a great, funky blues style. Here again the listener would really to hear the guitars more prominent in the mix. It is also ironic that he recorded this same song on his first secular album.

The album also contains the groups most memorable and popular song, “Trains Up in the Sky.” This song really pushed envelopes on Christian radio as its popularity forced many stations that would never play something like it to add the song top their playlist. This provided many songs to follow a easier path onto radio. The album closes with what I believe is Lefevre’s finest vocal performance, the power balled, “The Warrior.” The diversity of quiet, whispering falsetto and monstrous, nearly straining screams shows the mastery of his craft and delivers the message in a way the lyrics alone could not have.

  1. Clint
    October 22, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Here’s a cover image if you need one: http://bit.ly/cKyjpE

  2. Brian
    October 29, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    This was a fantastic album and featured Kerry Livgren of Kansas fame playing guitar on I Will Rejoice & either Gospel Ship or Trains Up In the Sky
    Probably why the mix was better featuring a big name like that

    Crucible of Love was a very strong track but HE Is Strong was even better and my favorite

  3. Aaron
    November 9, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Agreed @Brian. He is Strong still makes me cry every time I hear it.

  4. Brett C
    December 1, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Another brilliant album that I still enjoy today.

  5. Greenchili
    March 8, 2011 at 12:39 pm

    Some of my Mylon favorites are on this CD but I still find “Face The Music” and “Crack The Sky (which was released after the horrible ‘Look Up’)” to be my favorite albums of his. Agreed on the outfits and this is one album where I can say I didn’t care for the electronic drums which does take away from the power of the songs. Saw them in concert once.

    He has most of his earlier “Broken Heart” releases available on his website.

  6. Liz
    March 29, 2011 at 12:39 am

    One of my top faves!

  7. DanW
    June 13, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    I must have seen Mylon twenty times while I was a teenager because he seemed to frequent my home state Pennsylvania (Creation, Hershey, Lancaster, St.Francis College) and I was always reenergized at his shows. Mylon was very skilled at speaking from the heart to his audience between songs, unlike many of my other CCM favorites who seem very uncomfortable away from the music. The first time I ever saw him was at a mini-festival in Waynesboro, PA (Crossroads Festival?) around 1986, in which their show, the grand finale, was rained out. Instead of packing it up, Mylon and a couple of his guitarists had as many of us as possible crowd into a small building next door while they played an extended acoustic set for us and even preached for awhile.

  8. John
    February 29, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    This album got me started on the search for original and authentic Christian. It seems so many artists in CCM are forced into the “sounds like” nonsense or the “they are the “Christian version of…” trap. Comparisons to other artists, secular or Christian, is natural and has always been the trend but it seemed so prevalent in the 80’s.

    Mylon rocked in a way that connected with me and was unique enough (at least to my early exposure to rock music at the time) and suited my tastes for driving guitars and pounding drums matched with a passioniate delivery of the song’s message.

    Mylon was the first ‘real’ rock concert I attended and, as is so typical for us all, it became the standard for future concerts I would attend. They rocked with choreography, lights and pyro (rememeber that?). They used the entire stage, and Mylon preached. He knew why he wanted people there: he wanted to share the gospel and he was sincere about it. It wasn’t a hidden agenda or an unspoken but intended byproduct of his live shows.

    Incidentally, this Canadian kid from Toronto made a stop at Broken Heart Ministries in Altanta on my way home from a family vacation in Florida to see the band. What an awesome opportunity the see these rock ‘n roll stars as regular guys. I’m forever grateful to my family for their willingness to make the detour on my behalf.

    Although my musical tastes have matured (ha, read ‘changed’) I continue to pull out these albums (which I have now purchased and repurchased in almost every format imaginable over the years) I still find myself putting them on the iPod again and again.

    Thanks Mylon, for the inspiration.

  9. June 8, 2014 at 10:21 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts on christian. Regards

  10. July 16, 2014 at 12:33 pm

    I don’t know, for me “Brand New Start” just seemed to be the quintessential Mylon Album — not a bad cut on that one. I still find myself listening to it even now some 30 years later.

    I have to ask — what does ASYO mean? I don’t get it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

