Home > CCM, Christian Music, Christian Pop, Christian Rap, Christian Rock, Greatest Albums, Jesus Music > 310. Mommy Don’t Love Daddy Anymore – Resurrection Band

310. Mommy Don’t Love Daddy Anymore – Resurrection Band

MOMMY DON’T LOVE DADDY ANYMORE (1981)

Resurrection Band

Back before Rez was called Rez Band they were known simply as Resurrection Band. And for quite some time they were the most important band in Christian Music. No other band rocked like them during this time and no other band meant as much to their fans as this band. They lived what they preached more than any other band in CCM history…period.

Led by husband and wife singers, Glenn and Wendi Kaiser, Resurrection band formed out of an inner city community called Jesus People USA. The community held all things in common and fed and ministered to thousands upon thousands over the years. The band was a ministry offshoot of the community and was never a money making vehicle for any of its members.

Mommy Don’t Love Daddy Anymore was the band 4th official release (two very rare demo tapes also exist) and continued the street level ministry focus of lyrical content. Musically this is one of the more commercial sounding albums of the early five “hard rock” releases. It also would, with the previous release (Colours) contain some of the most poignant, powerful and controversial songs in the bands history.

Even the cover drew ire from the CCM bookstore world with the sad depiction of a child mourning the loss of his parents through divorce. The songs on the rest of the album would broach subjects beyond even the divorce mentioned in the title track. These include the treatment of the handicapped, personal alienation, an apathetic Church, suicidal thoughts, racism and abortion. These are not subjects often addressed by Christian artists, especially in 1981, but were actually the common content for this amazing band.

Nearly everything works on this album. Elevator Muzik’s attack on modern consumerism still rings true while Lovin’ You was modern worship before anyone had any idea what that was. But it was the centerpiece of the entire album, The Chair, that would cause many to call this their best work. The song, dealing with the plight of paraplegics sung in the first person is one of Glenn’s more earnest and emotional performances. Both musically and lyrically this is as good as a song be. This is what a great rock song should be!

I will also state that this album contains Wendi’s finest vocals. This shouldn’t even be considered an AYSO, it’s an album you must own and should be ashamed not to!

  1. Blake R
    November 4, 2010 at 4:11 am

    Definitely agree,”The Chair” is brilliant. Glenn has one of those voices that you can’t help but believe every word he sings.

  2. aarjayaitch
    November 5, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    Happy to say I do own this and I have generally considered it my favorite Rez album (due in no small measure to The Chair.) But I remember that this record gave me quite a scare the first time I heard it. That was back when it was first released so, of course, I bought it on vinyl. I was listening to it (LOUD) on my headphones and when Elevator Muzik got to the part with the needle skid, I jumped! For one heart-stopping second I thought something terrible had happened to my stereo! Whew! good times…

  3. Brian
    November 13, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    Agreed on all counts. My only regret is that they should have chosen another track as the opening track. It got me. But the rest of the album was so good I ended up loving even the weakest musical track (Apathy in my opinion) and I can now listen to the entire tracklist freely. I was growing in my musical tastes back then.

    What a powerful set of songs. Cutting words, cutting music. Some of the tune were melodic on a harsh topic (Mommy Doesn’t Love Daddy Anymore)

    Just a fantastic release.

  4. newelectricmuse
    November 20, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Great album – my favourite by the Rez Band.

  5. Don
    April 12, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    The one Rez Band album I usually remember as the best, though they had at least three others I thought were the best.

    • low5point
      April 12, 2011 at 7:21 pm

      I believe I will have listed three albums ahead of this one when all is said and done. It’s kind of like “Ping Pong” for me as well, as it’s probably my second “favorite.” Colours just can’t be beat.

  6. June 18, 2011 at 5:02 am

    The lyrics are just great. I have five album of them and I cannot find better lyrics they had written anywhere. The brilliant title track and of course The Chair and Elevator Muzik are the highlights.

  7. Brent Johnson
    May 9, 2014 at 4:27 pm

    Wish i’d seen this list earlier but i’ll chime in because I have so much respect and appreciation for this band. While I think they hit it out of the park starting with Silence Screams through Reach of Love these early albums were very good and ahead of their time. If christian music had classic rock stations these guys would be mainstays.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

