295. Brand New Eyes – Paramore

BRAND NEW EYES (2009)

Paramore

One of truly great bands to be birthed in this last decade is Franklin, Tennessee’s Paramore. The female lead alternative, hard music band is noted for creative and passion filled hard and progressive music in the vein of The Letter Black, Fireflight and Flyleaf. Most comparison’s appear to with the latter but Paramore lead vocalist Hayley Williams does not use the hardcore scream technique associated with Flyleaf.

Those looking for blatantly evangelical content will be disappointed though the band members, most notable Williams who has commented that the band members are a group of Christians but refrain from using the term “Christian Band” to describe the band or purpose of the band. The Christian worldview is clear enough for those interested in digging deeper into the content of the bands many great songs.

They have been labeled the “next big thing” and it appears they are not far from breaking big time. They also come across as significantly more positive lyrically than their contemporaries. Williams is also a whale of a singer that appears to be able to pull any sort of musical expression of without a hitch.

All of their records have been quality releases and worthy of consideration, though with Paramore there is more of an accessible feel and a better and more mature songwriting style presented. Turn It Off, Playing God and Careful are all worthy hit material and show a great future  potential for the band.

  1. John Rodermond
    March 8, 2012 at 1:07 am

    I have never heard of Paramore. And that is part of the fun of working through this list (albeit, after all the titles have been revealed). Too bad I discovered it so late.

    Before I continue, though, I have to admit that it is the inclusion of bands like Paramore (bands that are “relative” newcomers to the CCM scene) on a list that marks the best of “all time” that says something. Either they are utterly singular and original or their inclusion is somewhat arbitrary and reflects the creator’s unique and individual taste.

    I don’t think those two options are mutually exclusive as many times both cases may be true. But it is the latter which has the unfortunate effect of potentially de-valuing “the list.”

    It begs the questions: Where are MY favourites? How come they are not represented? Personally, I would have loved to see Future of Forestry appear on this list. Or some more recent works by the Violet Burning – like their epic 3-disc “The Story of Us” et al. But when I investigate why I’m looking for any particular inclusion, I find it is because I long for some validation of the music ‘I’ like and some recognition for the bands that ‘I’ support. Me, me, me.

    And then I realize that’s not why this list exists or even why it was created.

    Thanks Dave for compiling your list and exposing me to some special music – both new and old – that has some significance for those of us who appreciate it.

    It might be worthwhile to compile a list as an appendix that recommends some great stuff that may not have appeared here. There is definitely an audience.

    In the meantime, I’m going to continue to work my way up the list and find me some Paramore to sample.

    Thanks again.

    • low5point
      March 8, 2012 at 3:46 am

      Future of Forestry was not included as I discovered them after the creation of the list…in 8 years when I do the Top 1000 🙂

      As for the Violet Burning, it was released when I had already reached the Top 100 and could not be included. It would be a Top 50 if I was to do the list over.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

