Home > CCM, Christian Music, Christian Pop, Christian Rock, Greatest Albums, Jesus Music > 198. Don’t Wait for the Movie – White Heart

198. Don’t Wait for the Movie – White Heart

DON’T WAIT FOR THE MOVIE (1986)

White Heart

Birthed in 1982 as a rock side project for many members of the Bill Gaither Vocal Band, White Heart went on to be one of the most influential and successful artists of the 80’s and 90’s. Early releases featured inspirational icon Steve Green on lead vocals followed by Scott Douglas (on albums two and three) who would later be convicted of sexual assault.

This would have killed most bands, but hidden amongst the bands roadies was young aspiring vocalist named Rick Florian. Florian made his band debut on “Don’t Wait for the Movie” and took the band to a whole new level of success. The Toto pop and inspirational “safe” ballads that populated the first three albums was replaced with a more Journey, REO Speedwagon rock sound.It also marked an “escape” from Home Sweet Home records to Sparrow.

Initially the album received some pretty strong negative reviews and reception. Over time the position softened and now the album is considered one of the most important rock releases of the era along side the better works of Petra, Sevant and AD.

Though not as critically admired as Freedom or Redemption. it remains one of the most successful and cherished albums in the bands career. It also marked the bands first overwhelming reception on Christian rock and CHR radio. Fly Eagle Fly and How Many Times became Christian radio staples well past the shelf life of the album.

  1. Greenchili
    March 9, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Hmmm I think most Whiteheart fans would agree that “Freedom” was by far their best album. Two of my fav tracks on this are “Beat of a different Drum” and “Dr. Jekyl Mr. Christian”. I Also like the interplay between Gordon Kennedy and their newly acquired bass player Simms(?).

    Redemption is a nice pleasent surprise as well.

    • June 7, 2011 at 2:52 am

      Freedom was my favorite album too from Whiteheart too. But my favorite Whiteheart song will always be Undercover from the Vital Signs album.

  2. June 18, 2011 at 5:10 am

    Also the song “Dr. Jekyll And Mr. Christian” is wonderful. Yeah, this is almost like Toto but better.

  3. y2daddy
    February 4, 2012 at 1:22 am

    Actually I would list Redemption as their best album. Freedom never floated my boat.

  4. Tim
    February 23, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    I didn’t like this album when it came out, and I still don’t like it — and I bought every album they ever made. It had maybe 3 enjoyable songs on it (not Fly Eagle Fly, though, which was a terribly sappy song). I would rank at least 6 WH albums as being better than this one. Freedom should be substituted for this album (and ranked much higher), especially with only 2 WH albums on this countdown.

  5. December 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Never figured there would be two Whiteheart albums in this countdown and Freedom would not be one of them.

  6. February 19, 2013 at 8:19 am

    ‘Dr Jekyll And Mr Christian’ is one of my favourite songs ever, by any band. Such a great song, musically, lyrically, and of course the vocals are outstanding. Also, I pretty much have to echo the cry of ‘Freedom’ — fantastic album. That one and DWFTM are my favourite albums ever. Like… ever. I’d put them one-two on my list — then again, my CCM collection is much, much smaller than yours; and I’m a die-hard White Heartian to boot.

    Since I’m here, thank you, low5point, for taking on such a formidable project. I discovered this less than a week ago and I’ve been spending every spare moment reading it… it’s fascinating and very well done. You’ve introduced me to a lot of great music in the past few days. šŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

