159. Flyleaf – Flyleaf

FLYLEAF (2005)

Flyleaf

Over a million people can’t be wrong.

What a minute, Justin Beiber has sold over one million copies, so that’s not always right. But in the case of Flyleaf, they most definitely are right!

I just got done listening to the debut from the band Flyleaf and I’m tired and my throat hurts. Lead vocalist Lacey Mosley packs a ridiculous amount of passion and punch into the small and delicate frame. She can scream with the best the boys and yet lead an angelic choir without missing a beat.

Creative for its genre, the eponymous debut took the industry by storm and made Fly leaf a household name despite the more than obvious Christian content. Mosley has never been shy about her faith in her writing and subsequent projects present an even more evangelical message.

The music here is initially comparable to Evanescence, though the comparison is far from fair. Flyleaf does not employ the darker, mystical approach and has a much stronger pop feel to their sense of melody. Same for the lyrical content which is more direct and passionate.

“Cassie” presents the famous story surrounding a young girl who proclaimed her faith while staring down the barrel of a rifle handled by one of the two Columbine murderers. The music so perfectly matches the fervency and terror of the scene that it can be quite spine chilling. The final acapella vocal line is almost terrifying in its reality.

The album went on to produce several chart topping hits in both mainstream and Christian rock radio markets. They have continued to create great music, though toned downed musically a bit, but still raw and passionate.

  1. Don
    April 8, 2011 at 4:50 am

    A household name that I have never heard of. But, I do live under a rock.

  2. adam
    July 6, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I don’t get it. It was just a lot of screaming to me. I guess I’m getting old. 🙂

  3. Greenchili
    December 29, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Well the “screaming” part never does much for me. I guess “rage” was just never my thing. Sometimes that just comes across to me as more a “gimmick” than a musical expression. Luckily it’s kinda limited except for the first track. But other than that it’s not a bad little album.

    But I’m willing to admit… that I must be getting old.. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

