Home > CCM, Christian Music, Christian Pop, Christian Rock, Greatest Albums, Jesus Music > 102. Chuck Girard – Chuck Girard

102. Chuck Girard – Chuck Girard

CHUCK GIRARD (1975)

Chuck Girard

This one could easily be labeled an essential Jesus Music album that belongs in everyone’s collection. Just a few years after leaving the seminal Jesus Music pioneer group, Love Song, Girard recorded his eponymous debut. The album features some of the best music the Jesus Music era had to offer including one worship song that is most definitely considered a classic.

The album is filled with what could be called the “California” sound reminiscent of Brian Wilson with a little country feel a la The Eagles. Most notable amongst the rockers is the lead track, Rock n Roll Preacher. Sounding a bit like Cliff Richard here, the song is a rollicking good tune that would have fit right in with the general market musical scene is 1975.

Where Love Song stayed within the acoustic folk/rock safety zone Girard branched out a bit beyond those borders and some struggled with the more “rockin'” Girard. This is not true of the younger Christians eager for anything resembling legitimate rock or Top 40 music. Girard would most definitely fit into the later category as his music was very radio friendly, if there was such a thing in 1975.

But despite the pop and rock that dominated the album, it would be the nearly 6-minute worship song that closes the album that would not only be the biggest hit from the album, but also become the signature song of Girard’s entire career. “Sometimes Alleluia” would find its way into nearly every church through hymnals, worship songbooks and youth group sing-a-longs. Though not the first “contemporary worship” song recorded it easily ranks amongst the first and the most enduring. It would go on to be recorded countless times by other artists and may be the most important worship song of the era. That being said, it is also a wonderful song and easily considered a “classic!”

Though not the ground breaking music of Love Song, for it’s time it was the very best the Jesus Music scene had to offer. legitimate and authentic pop music with a distinctly eternal message.

  1. Brett C
    March 24, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    Noooooooooooooooooooooo! Not even in the top 100. Shame!
    Well I guess you being a few years younger than me you do have a greater nostalgic lean to the 80’s+, judging by allot of your choices so far, but I guess it is your list so I will forgive you. 🙂
    This is one brilliant album, Chuck Girard, man that voice, it just takes you places. The song writting on this is great, the playing is great (helped by the one of the greatest drummers of all time Mr Jim Keltner). The singing utterly brilliant!
    It’s one album that can bring you to the foot of our Lord in Worship. Just listen to those last 3 songs on the album again. This is top 25 stuff for me.

    • low5point
      March 24, 2011 at 4:34 pm

      Brett

      It was very hard for me to not have this album make the Top 100. But once I started adding the top Gospel, rap, Metal, etc into the list things that are personal favorites dipped. It started out in the 70’s but as recently as three days ago it was actually number 100. I flipped it with the one I chose for number 100 based on production value and ground breaking nature of that album. I believe you will appreciate number 100 as well 🙂

  2. TopekaRoy
    March 24, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    Brett, I agree this should be in the top 100 as well, but I have thought that for about 150 albums on this list so far. I’m not too hung up on position. How do you rank Ernie & Debbie Rettino at 370 and Dig Hay Zoose at 371 and not the other way around?

    I have noticed that while there have been a ton of great albums on this list so far, the general trend is that the higher ranked albums tend to have more great songs or the weaker songs tend to be better than the weaker songs on lower ranked albums. That makes me really excited to see what is in the top 100. I’m having a great time listening to some of my old albums that I haven’t heard in years and discovering new albums that I somehow missed when they first came out.

    Keep ’em coming LowPoint!

    • Brett C
      March 25, 2011 at 6:41 pm

      Hi TopekaRoy,
      While I do have many christian albums in my collection from all eras, I don’t have anywhere near the 7500 albums that our friend low5point has to draw upon for this great list that he is producing.
      You happened to choose two albums (no. 370 and 371) which I do not own, so I cannot comment.
      My collection does have a fairly even spread of albums from the 70’s, 80’s, 90’s and the 00’s, oh and a couple from the 60’s as well thanks to Mr Norman and Mr Fischer.
      I too have been introduced to a hand full of excellent albums from this top 500 list so far which missed my notice over the years, so for this fact alone I am very grateful to low5point for his time and effort that he has put into the list.
      I am really looking forward to seeing what is in the top 100 on the list, there are still plenty of great albums which I count as my favourites. Bring on the top 100.

  3. TopekaRoy
    March 27, 2011 at 12:20 am

    LOL.

    Brett I picked those two albums at random. I have 371 but have never heard 370 (yYt. I’ll probably purchase a download eventually.)

    My point was, how can you say, emphatically, that an album is not as good as the one ranked one spot higher, but better than the one ranked one spot lower? Obviously, it’s all highly subjective, but in general the albums are getting better as we climb the list.

    I happen to agree with low5point’s placing of probably 95-97% of the albums on this list. I think a big reason for that is that his musical tastes and mine are very similar. I’m 47 years old and started listening to Christian music around 1977, but my tastes lean toward modern/alternative rock, so the 77’s, Lifesavors, Daniel Amos stuff as well as the Skillet, Switchfoot, Relient K type albums are right down my alley. But I also enjoy the classic Jesus Music, stuff (Larry norman, LoveSong, Keith Green, 2nd Chapter of Acts), the heavy metal (Stryper, Bride, Holy Soldier) death/speed/thrash metal, techno/industrial and even some of the rap music.

    Basically, if it’s done well, regardless of genre, I love it!

    • Brett C
      March 27, 2011 at 5:57 pm

      Well I am in pretty much the same boat all around, I’m also 47, but I didn’t start listening until 1980 (the year of my conversion).
      I agree it is all very subjective, and I have agreed with most of low5point’s placing for most of the albums so far except for a small handful.
      As I stated earlier it’s low5point’s list so he obviously can rank them however he see fit. It’s all a bit of fun anyway.

  4. Don
    April 8, 2011 at 4:20 am

    I liked Glow in the Dark and especially Spirit Wind better. Still, a good album – worthy of this slot.

  5. Dave H
    April 22, 2011 at 12:23 pm

    Disappointed in this review. Dave didn’t even mention the fact the guys from Ambrosia did a lot of the playing on it. Oh well 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

