Home > Uncategorized > The Top 100

The Top 100

OK

Here they come…

Just a warning that there may be more time between each review in the Top 100 as I hope to spend more time discussing the albums and that will mean more time re-listening to these incredible classics. Please be patient, one day this will all be over and the griping can begin!

Hope the ride has been fun and hope everyone is looking forward to the Top 100 as much as I am!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. JLR
    March 24, 2011 at 10:24 am

    If you’re going to take more time with each review of the top 100 entries, here’s hoping some of your time dedicated to proofreading them as well. Enjoyable as many of your insights can be, the enjoyent’s often mingled with frustration due to seeing your some time copious misspellings and grammatical gaffes.

    While I’m writing, if you’ve any idea where one may find streams of Walk On Water’s music online, I’d appreciate knowing where the they can be heard. YouTube appears to be of no help.

    Agape,

    JLR

    • low5point
      March 24, 2011 at 2:46 pm

      I’ll consider that.

      Nah…on second thought, I’ll just keep writing short reviews and let the readers hash out the rest.

      In the meantime, please feel free to start your own 500 plus post blog after analyzing 7,500 albums while listening to 1,200 hours of music over 18 months while working two jobs.

  2. Brett C
    March 24, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    JLR, give the man a break. There obviously has been allot of work but into this list, so I’m sure we can forgive a few misspeilings.

  3. Jarrod
    March 25, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Agree with Brett. Give the guy a break!

    I’m loving the list, even though I may not always agree with it (seriously, Acthung Baby so low?!!?!). And a huge thank you for leading me to Fleming & John. I’d never listened to them until I read the review on this blog. WOW!

    Keep up the great work, spelling mistakes and all! 🙂

  4. Jarrod
    March 25, 2011 at 2:04 am

    Crap! Sorry JLR, I spelt “Achtung” wrong…..

  5. March 25, 2011 at 2:34 am

    I know what you mean about working two jobs while creating this legacy…This blog is in itself is monumental let alone the living of your life! There is so much music in hear that I had forgot (Adam Again-Homeboys) that has reignited the soundtrack of my life. I wish we could hang out! I have so often wanted to have my Facebook status say “Anyone want to hang out Saturday and listen to Christian music form the 80’s and 90’s”…but I hate ridicule and rejection. I have read everything and eagerly await each new postbj! Rich from Iowa.

  6. March 25, 2011 at 3:57 pm

    I just found your site today and subscribed (while listening to Bob Bennett’s “First Things First” album). I look forward to reading your top 100 reviews.

    @JLR – I agree with everyone else here. That was a quite unnecessary comment.

    @Rich – Make it music from the 70’s and 80’s and I’m in.

    • low5point
      March 25, 2011 at 11:55 pm

      Barry

      We have much more in agreement than just music. As well as being a fan of Daniel Amos, Charlie Peacock and Steve Taylor, I’m also a fan of Machen, Warfield, Calvin, Bahnsen, Packer & the Puritans 🙂

      I have another blog that is theological oriented…eschatology.

  7. JLR
    March 25, 2011 at 3:58 pm

    Points well taken, all, sorry for being so much of a stickler, I appreicate the effort put into the blog and still would like a lead on finding WoW online. TY and apologies again.

    • low5point
      March 25, 2011 at 4:35 pm

      Check the blogs I have listed as referrals both here are my other music blog

  8. Don
    April 8, 2011 at 5:01 am

    Ever hear a cd by “The Julies” titled “lovelife” ? Great very obscure EP from sometime in the 90’s I believe.

    Coulda made the top 300 I think

    • low5point
      April 8, 2011 at 5:10 am

      Love that album….but VERY few EP’s made the list. Just one of my quirky biases

  9. Don
    April 8, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Fair enough.

    Thanks again for all the reintroductions – to old friends and to near and dear new “friends.”

  10. Don
    April 8, 2011 at 10:45 pm

    Wow – see flipside!

  11. Don
    April 8, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    David I miss you ! It has been almost 2 days since you last wrote to us all! Quit your jobs and just write reviews for us!

    Or better, take a break when needed and keep yourself healthy!

  12. Don
    April 11, 2011 at 9:08 pm

    I was just saying, to myself, “top 100” means the top albums from the last 40 or so years in Christian music (of the contemporary persuasion).

    And myself responded, “Yeah, the top 2 or 3 albums from every year on average. More or less, a Grammy award winner or CCM album of the year equivalent is what each album is from here on in! All would be at the top of the list of Campus life’s year end album list. All six stars on tollbooth.org. Best of the year as judged by Heaven’s Metal, New Sound Magazine, whatever other magazines I used to read.”

    That is what David means by “incredible classics.” And, he has shown that he knows what he is writing about, even though our personal tastes may differ a little.

    I guess I was a bit skeptical – expecting half of them to be clunkers or ho-hum albums. But considering the statistics………..

    I guess I should stop thinking out loud – at least on someone else’s blog.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

