Why the Long Pause

I decided to write a quick note here to thank everyone for their patience with this extended pause over the Holidays (and longer) before finishing the countdown.

I would like to blame work, or the kids, or the wife, or even the Holidays themselves for the delay, but…

The truth of the matter is I am in the midst of an internal quarrel. I made several changes to the countdown as it proceeded, dropping some albums, adding others and even moving around several albums in the Top 100 to get the list exactly how I wanted it. I have had a firm 4 thru 10, though i did move one or two around in the weeks leading up to the Top 25.

But I have never had a solid Top 3. I have had the three albums I chose for the top 3 and they have never wavered. But each of them have found themselves listed in the 1, 2 or 3 spots countless times.

All three are amazing projects (obviously), but listing a number one over the other two has been difficult. One is deserving because it is the singularly most important release in the history of CCM while also being an artistic achievement for its time, or any time. Another is simply one of the greatest albums ever recorded in or out of Christian music and the third represents what I believe is the finest and most authentic collection of songs in a cohesive unit that any CCM artists have ever mustered to deliver. They literally could be 1a, 1b, and 1c.

But I believe I have justified to myself the finalized Top 3 ranking and will proceed with the reviews over the next several days…

  1. Charles H
    January 6, 2012 at 9:42 pm

    Thanks for the “long pause” update. I’ve actually enjoyed using the time to go back through the list. It’s a good thing you’ve done. Can’t say “thanks” enough, but I’ll say it at least one more time… Thanks.

  2. harvey_d
    January 6, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    Once you’ve explained like that, it doesn’t really matter too much which one you pick for 1, 2 and 3. Just pick them and go for it. Looking forward to it!

  3. carl
    January 7, 2012 at 3:24 am

    Yeah….from your words, we’ll see the top 3 as equally awesome.

  4. Greenchili
    January 7, 2012 at 6:11 am

    I kinda figured you had gotten yourself stuck in some top 3 paradoxal situation! lol.

    I’m sure there is alot of invisible “pressure” in regards to marking an album as “number 1”.. Just keep in mind, that didn’t stop you when you made your top 50!

  5. Bill B
    January 9, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    The REAL dillema would have been if you had gotten this far and decided you needed to scrap the whole list and start over. Ha Ha

    • low5point
      January 9, 2012 at 5:09 pm

      Don’t tempt me…

  6. Stel Pontikes
    January 9, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    It’s Evie, isn’t it….??!

  7. Greenchili
    January 9, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Bill B :The REAL dillema would have been if you had gotten this far and decided you needed to scrap the whole list and start over. Ha Ha

    Hehe.. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

