446. Coming Attraction – Lewis McVay

COMING ATTRACTION (1984)

Lewis McVay

Nearly a decade after releasing one of the most classic, definitive Jesus Music albums, Sail on Sailor, with his band Mustard Seed Faith and some six year since releasing his first solo album “Spirit of St. Lewis” Lewis McVay released an amazing record that was only hampered by being part of a label that was about to fold.

From the creative cover to the phenomenal musicianship on the album, every song works and works well. Combining many different genres all within the framework of pop/rock with touches of new wave and soulful jazz, there is also a hint of the sounds also explored by labelmates Prodigal.

Christian radio was very responsive to the mid-tempo ballad “Someday” which sounds nothing like the rest of the album and is uncanny how much it sounds like a David and the Giants ballad. It is also the only over the top syrupy CCM song on the entire album and seems like it was written just for the radio. That is really the ONLY song not up to par with the rest of the album. The rest of the album is really that good. There is not a weak song to be found anywhere.

Highlights include the title track, Moon Eyes and You Can’t Fool Me. This is a serious AYSO and one can only hope to find one to own. You don’t want to know what I paid for mine 20 years later!

  1. Brian
    October 15, 2010 at 1:49 pm

    I did not get this one at first…but when I did…WOW….on my top 50 list!

    • low5point
      October 15, 2010 at 4:05 pm

      I hope Lewis doesn’t mind me sharing this but several songs were left off the project by the record company and he is considering a re-release with those songs. He sent me 2 of them and they are great. Recorded live in the studio without the overdubs…

  2. Churchmouse
    October 15, 2010 at 11:48 pm

    One of my faves. The funny thing is that I love “Someday” more than any of the others. Very soulful beat, good harmonies, and the lyrics are awesome. It is and encouraging song and Lewis’s voice never sounded better.

  3. JSlackTX
    November 5, 2010 at 4:23 pm

    Almost a crime that such a phenomenal, high-quality Christian album has been so lost in the shuffle of wanna-be popsters and money-seekers that have weakened the genre since the 80’s (same as it ever was in the “real” world). I requested this album over on another blog, linked to this one, and it has disappeared from the list–nobody has heard of it over there. Yet the album art from this Lewis McVay album is the cover art for the 500 top albums listing–and has therefore cracked the front page of that blog, haha!

    Great 80’s album, very Christian, not watered-down stuff desperate to sell records to pimply-faced 13 year olds. “Coming Attractions” is one of my all-time faves, along with Quickflight’s “Decent Beat” and anything 77’s.

    • low5point
      November 5, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      The album was great and should have been better but record company decisions took off a few songs that should have been included. I spoke with Lewis recently and he sent me several songs that were left off. they were great! He hopes to add the songs and re-release the album…at least digitally.

  4. Greenchili
    May 13, 2011 at 11:41 am

    Nice to hear he is considering a re-release with the missing track. Oddly enough after hearing “Someday” and before looking at the description here I thought to myself this is a song one would expect to hear on a secular radio station. So yeah it may have been radio friendly.. but I think in a different way.

  5. Tammy
    September 15, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    THANK YOU for discussing this singer and the song sOMEDAY. This is my absolutely favorite christian song EVER EVER! Thanks for helping me gain more insight into this man.

  6. Tammy
    September 15, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    I am actually looking for MANY 70’s-80’s Christian songs/singers. I wonder if anyone can help me. I would love to know the singer/name of the song that goes, in part….”Lord I’m dancing, you’ve got me dancing in the aisles…” There is this other song…”we are the salt of the earth,”. In part it has lyrics…”His laughter caught me by surprise”. Please, if anyone can help me, I’d be sooo happy. And I’d also love to know how I can find Dallas Holm’ “I am so happy”. That is enough for now, but I still have many songs I’m looking for. In the day of the internet, I don’t think it should be this hard to find these songs, but it has been very hard. Thanks.

    • low5point
      September 16, 2012 at 4:26 am

      I believe the “Dancin’ In The Aisles” is from the band Northbound. They only did one album and it was good enough to make this list.

  7. Tammy
    September 16, 2012 at 5:08 pm

    Thanks! I’ll check it out!

  8. Tammy
    September 16, 2012 at 5:16 pm

    IT IS!!!! you helped me finally find this song after YEARS of searching. Thank you so much!!!! I can’t convey how grateful I am to you. God Bless you.

  9. April 15, 2017 at 10:07 pm

    Lewis McVay

    good news … the original 1982 master of this record has been found …

    song order/mixes and all right here … recorded this record during a three all-nighter
    session as Keith Green was working on what would be his last album during the day in the same studio in Hollywood Calif …

    this was the real record before it got taken apart by the CCM bizz of 1982 ..

    https://lewismcvay.bandcamp.com/album/lewis-mcvay-coming-attraction-1982-live-studio-recordings

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment